ISM members’ day and AGM 2019

Tuesday 16 April 2019, 10am - 5pm

Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, 200 Jennens Rd, Birmingham B4 7XR

Join us for our popular annual event which brings ISM members from all over the UK together to enjoy stimulating musical sessions, catch up with friends and network with fellow professional musicians. It is also an opportunity to attend our Annual General Meeting and open forum.

This year’s event will focus on the power of music and will include sessions on the future of music education, discussions with leading composers and contemporary groups and inspiring performances from top performers.

The day will conclude with the handing over of the ISM Presidential Medal from Professor David Saint to Welsh baritone opera singer Jeremy Huw Williams.

If you would like to attend Members’ Day, please book your place by Tuesday 2 April 2019. Please let us know if you have any dietary or access needs when you book.

You can book for the whole day or choose to attend specific sessions.

Booking prices for members

  • Morning/afternoon tickets: Free
  • Full day ticket: £10 (cost of lunch)
  • Annual General Meeting: Free

The AGM agenda and proxy voting form, along with the Society’s Annual Report and Accounts, will be published in your March/April 2019 issue of Music Journal.

If you would prefer to book by telephone, please call us on 020 7221 3499, 9.30am - 5.30pm Mon-Fri.

Booking deadline: Tuesday 2 April 2019.

ISM corporate members are also entitled to book at the discounted rates above.

Book your ticket

Event programme

10am – Registration and refreshments

10.30am – Welcome from Professor David Saint, President 2018-19

10.35am – Performance from Lauren Zhang (Winner, BBC Young Musician of the Year 2018)

11am – The future of music education

12pm – Break

12.20pm – AGM and open forum

1.20pm – Lunch

2.30pm – Param Vir in Conversation with writer and researcher Katy Hamilton with a performance of Wheeling past the stars from Soprano Patricia Auchterlonie and Cellist Uli Heinan

3.45pm – Presidential medal ceremony

4pm – Performance – Xhosa Cole Quartet (Xhosa Cole, BBC Young Jazz Musician of the Year 2018)

4.20pm – Closing words

4.30pm – Drinks reception

5pm – Event close

Not an ISM member?