Organisations write joint letter to DCMS Minster Jump to main content

Organisations write joint letter to DCMS Minster

The ISM has sent a joint letter to DCMS Minister Julia Lopez MP alongside other organisations with an interest in touring.

The letter expresses disappointment with the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport's announcement of 12th October which claimed that visa-free short-term touring was now allowed in 20 member states.

The claim gives a misleading impression to members of the creative industries who rely on work in Europe as the announcement implies that musicians (and other creative professionals) touring in those 19 member states will be permitted to work visa-free for up to 90 days.

Existing short-stay visa-waivers between the EU and third countries are commonly 90 days within a 180-day period. This isn't the case with many of the countries which are listed and without explicitly outlining the exact limitations, confusion could be caused. The ISM and colleagues in The Touring Group have made this point to Government on multiple occasions.

The letter has been signed by the ISM, the Musicians' Union, the Music Managers Forum, the Featured Artists Coalition, the Association of Independent Music, Carry on Touring and ukeartswork.

The ISM hopes that Minister engages constructively with the sector going forward.