News: Update for musicians as tiers change in England

Updated 17 December

In response to the changing coronavirus situation, the government announced changes to the tier status of different regions in England. The Health Secretary has decided to move Greater London, together with parts of Essex and Hertfordshire, to the highest level of restrictions.

The parts of Essex are Basildon, Brentwood, Harlow Epping Forest, Castle Point, Rochford, Maldon, Braintree, Chelmsford, Thurrock and Southend on Sea. Meanwhile the parts of South Hertfordshire are Broxbourne, Hertsmere, Watford and the Three Rivers local authority.

Later in the week, further changes were announced as many areas across southern England moved into tier three - including Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire, Peterborough, Portsmouth, Gosport, Havant, Hastings & Rother and Surrey (except Waverley). In addition Bristol and North Somerset were moved into tier two and Herefordshire moved to tier one. These changes will be effective from Saturday 19 December.

Currently, amended guidance for the Christmas period will still be implemented as planned. That means the changes announced will apply until 23 December in England. Then from 23 December to 27 December, you may choose to form a Christmas bubble before the same restrictions return on 28 December.

To find out more, please read our summary of the guidelines for each tier or view our COVID-19 advice hub where you can access specific advice, including: