ENO awarded ISM-sponsored Opera and Music Theatre RPS award

English National Opera (ENO) has been awarded the Incorporated Society of Musicians-sponsored Opera and Music Theatre Award at tonight's Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) Awards for their consistently outstanding work in 2014.

In a year which has seen English National Opera placed under ‘special measures’ by Arts Council England, this award was some welcome good news for the company, with the awards jury commenting that across a range of repertoire, from Rodelinda and The Girl of the Golden Westto Benvenuto Cellini and The Thebans, the latter under the inspirational musical leadership of Ed Gardner, 'ENO’s artistic vibrancy continues to shine'.

The award was collected by John Berry, Artistic Director of English National Opera, and ENO Music Director, Ed Gardner. Also shortlisted for the award were the Royal Opera House’s production of Die Frau ohne Schatten, and Taliesin Arts Centre for Under Milk Wood by John Metcalf.

The RPS Music Awards, marking outstanding musical achievement in 2014 and chosen by distinguished, independent juries, were presented at a ceremony at The Brewery in the City of London (this evening – Tuesday 5 May) hosted by BBC Radio 3’s Sean Rafferty and Suzy Klein, with ‘silver lyre’ trophies presented to the winners by soprano and ISM's most recent Distinguished Musician Award recipient Dame Felicity Lott.

A special programme featuring highlights from the RPS Music Awards ceremony, interviews and music will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on Monday 11 May at 7.30pm (and on BBC iPlayer).

A full list of the winners can be found on the RPS Music Awards website.